A Better Breakfast

I’ve been trying to make healthier choices this summer. My next goal is a healthier breakfast. For a few years now, my breakfast routine hasn’t changed: cereal and non-fat milk, orange juice, and coffee with vanilla creamer or half-and-half. In the past few months, I’ve cut my OJ with sparkly water (shocker). I’ve been hitting a wall around 10am each day and I think I need to reevaluate my breakfast habit.

While I was pregnant, I had terrible morning sickness during my 1st trimester. I had crazy food aversions (I couldn’t be in the same room as someone drinking coffee) and cravings (lemon ALL THE TIME). The only thing that worked for my breakfast was a smoothie I found in my favorite magazine, Whole Living (rest in peace). It’s full of good things and was refreshing and filling in the morning. I think I’ll go back to my trusty smoothie friend and add a poached egg in there too, just for good protein-measure. Here’s the recipe for the best smoothie in all the land:

Via Whole Living

  • Yield – Serves 1
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup fresh mint leaves (I didn’t always use the mint leaves because I was too lazy cheap busy at the grocery store)
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup water

Directions

  1. Blend blueberries, avocado, orange juice, mint, lemon juice, and water until smooth.
Leave a Reply

