Sonder

Without a doubt, A Cup of Jo is my go-to blog every day. I’m excited to open my feed in the morning to see what Joanna and the other bloggers she works with have posted (#fangirl). Today, there was a post about impressive words. One that stuck out to me was “sonder”: the realization that each passerby has a life as vivid and complex as your own. What a beautiful idea! (Always the project-person, I think “sonder” would make a great business name.)

I fell down the rabbit hole of looking up the word online and came across The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows, a site with beautiful videos accompanying obscure words.

Sonder: The realization that each passerby has a life as vivid and complex as your own.

Yu yi: The desire to feel intensely again.

I plan on incorporating at least these two into my vocabulary (saved only for special occasions, of course) and subscribing to The Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows‘s feed. I’m embracing my nerdy curiosity!

Leave a Reply

